01
Jan
12

Digger for DOS

Digger is an arcade like game that ran on old PCs. The original version that I played was on a tandy 1000, but it was not compatible with more modern PC’s. Fortunately for us, Andrew Jenner made a remastered version that runs on pretty much any DOS system including more modern machines. You can find the remastered version at http://www.digger.org. The game play is simple you drive your digger around collecting diamonds and gold, avoiding enemies as you go. You have a weapon that you can use to destroy enemies, it takes a short time to recharge that makes it of limited use. There are money bags filled with gold that will fall once you have dug out the earth underneath them. The falling bags kill anything in their path and leave a small deposit of gold for you to collect for extra points. Like most arcade games the goal is simply to get as high a score as possible, so the game play will get old after a while. However it is a good challenging game that can fill a half hour or so.

On a side note, I’ve finished moving house, but have still not yet got the internet on yet. So I may not be able to post regularly until I get the net back.

3 Responses to “Digger for DOS”


  1. March 29, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    The original PC booter game “digger” in an extracted is not working on my real PC/XT, but seems to be related with my Tseng ET4000 (which works also in my PC/XT). The remastered version needs to much CPU ressources to be playable on an original IBM PC/XT. So I am still looking for a version which runs on a VGA card but in CGA mode…. any suggestions ?

  2. March 29, 2014 at 10:29 pm

    sorry for the fragmented notice, but I can’t edit it (why not?). I was trying to mention an “extracted version of the game”, not only “extracted” only.

  3. March 30, 2014 at 12:15 am

    Sorry about the messaging issue, but it’s basically because I get lots of spam that I’ve set up the Akistmet spam filter this way. It’s not good for many reasons, but necessary unfortunately. I do try to keep an eye on the spam filter to make sure it’s working right. It seems wordpress doesn’t let users edit comments, unless you own the blog.

    The problem with the PC booter version of Digger is basically exactly what you said. It doesn’t really work on VGA cards. I remember trying a version my cousin had and having no luck. The trouble is CGA and VGA have some modes which are incompatible. So the original game is not likely to work unless you install a genuine CGA card. Given the problems that brings I understand why you have a VGA card in your XT.

    I’m not sure, but there may be one that works on the early Tandy 1000/PCjr machines, but that would require owning either machine so that’s probably also out.

    The remastered version does seem to use more CPU in its VGA mode, which causes bad flicker and slow gameplay. There is however a command line switch (/C) to run it in CGA like the original but works on VGA cards. Testing under dosbox indicates this should be significantly faster and playable. I don’t have an XT class machine to test it with unfortunately.

    I haven’t heard of any other versions, although there might be some out there.
    I hope I’ve helped.
    Cheers
    Sparcie


Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

