21
May
12

Turbo Pascal for DOS

Turbo Pascal 6 about Screen

Turbo Pascal 6 about Screen

When I was a teenager I mostly wrote programs using gwbasic or qbasic. Around the time when I was about 15 or 16, my computer studies teacher gave me a copy of Borland turbo pascal 6 to try out and learn. It was a much different language to BASIC, and I unfortunately didn’t have any books to help me learn about it. Fortunately my teacher gave me a couple of sample programs so I could learn the structure and basic syntax of the language. I also compiled and inspected the code samples that came with it, and found them informative. However with out more good examples and information about hardware there were many tasks that were difficult.

One of  the main differences in pascal is the way that variables and functions are declared. Unlike C and other languages, variables can not be declared in the middle of a piece of code. There is a separate declaration portion to define them and their data types before they are used any where. This is good in some ways as it forces you to think about what you are going to need for your program, function or unit.

One of the very new things that I learned about that is very common, but not available in BASIC, was pointers. For the uninitiated a pointer is basically a number that “points” to a memory location in the computer. They are useful for dynamically allocating memory or dealing with large chunks of data. They are necessary in pascal to avoid filling up your data segment. Unfortunately they are also one of the easier things to get wrong. I avoided them when I first started writing in pascal as I had no knowledge about how they were used. Also I had very little need as my programs typically did not fill the data segment, but as the programs grew and I started using bit-mapped graphics, they became necessary.

A Open Program

An Open Program

Graphics and sound were also a very big change for me. Graphics was through a unit (library) called graph which utilised something called BGI (the borland graphics interface). Unfortunately I couldn’t get it to support the graphics modes that I was after at the time (320x200x256), as there was no BGI driver available for it in the language. Bit-mapped graphics also required that I used what was unfamiliar; pointers. So for quite a while graphics were right out of the question until I over came these hurdles later.

Later when I went to university I started to solve these problems, I found BGI drivers that supported VGA and VESA graphics modes, and learned the proper use of pointers for storing data as well as doing graphics. I later started writing in-line assembler into my programs to create my own hardware interface routines, the one I use the most being one I wrote for the adlib sound card.

Bob’s Fury

Bob's Fury Title Screen

Bob’s Fury Title Screen

Bob’s fury was one of the first projects I started back in 1999, it is a port of the original game that I wrote in QBasic. Arriving at university I had my first access to the internet and found solutions that had previously stopped me porting this to pascal. I found myself some BGI drivers that allowed the graphics mode I was after but also a higher resolution mode. I also found a nice pascal library that implemented the BASIC play statement. This made porting the sound from the original much easier.

Bob's Fury gameplay

Bob’s Fury Gameplay

I have continued to work on this game to this day, and it has changed a lot since the early days. I’ve added many features to the engine that weren’t possible in QBasic, and created more content for it. More recently I have been adding some of my own hardware interfaces, such as one for the keyboard and one for adlib sound cards, although I am yet to make some decent music for it, or the utility to create it. I’ve actually completed most of the game, but need to now create some new original levels for it as well as some story.

Romulus

Romulus in action

Romulus in action

My brothers and myself occasionally play a game called VGA planets. One of the enduring problems for us was that it would take too long with us playing so many of the human players, and there have not been any reasonably good AI players who also play as the shareware player. I know it’s sorta strange we liked playing the restricted version, but for us it introduced strategy elements that are not present in the registered version. So to help solve the problem I started to implement my own AI that would be better than many of the basic AI utilities out there.

I implemented it to behave the same way a player would as best as possible. The player reads result files and outputs turn files instead of modifying the host files directly like many other AI programs do. In this way Romulus cannot cheat, much the same way that spacelord doesn’t cheat. My focus has been to make the player reasonable good at taking advantage of the various abilities, and to be able to respond to various messages and threats such as ion storms. I’ve even attempted to implement a basic system of diplomacy which allows the player to select who it wants to wage war on.

It still needs quite a bit of work on it before I consider it complete. There are also a few segments I need to redesign and implement as the player doesn’t always do what I’d like it to. The main thing I need to do is to add more of the special abilities to the player.

Pascal Resources

There are many pascal resources around the web, but one of the best resources you can find for writing pascal on DOS is called the SWAG. Basically it is a collection of documentation, forum/BBS questions and answers, and code snippets sorted into different categories covering all the major aspects of programming in pascal. Information about programming the x86 hardware is some of the best and most useful content, especially if you are programming for DOS. I would highly recommend getting it if you can.

Pascal isn’t dead

There is a nice open source project called free pascal that implements a full pascal language including object-oriented extensions. Fortunately it is mostly syntax compatible with your old Borland pascal version 6 and 7. So you can use it to port old programs. I have noted it will also generate code for multiple platforms, including most of the operating systems and architectures that I am interested in. There is also a Delphi equivalent called Lazarus that will help you create new applications! The free pascal website is very useful, and has documentation to help you port your old programs and for the API.

0 Responses to “Turbo Pascal for DOS”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

