14
Nov
13

Some words on X windows

I’ve recently been reading about and watching a few videos about the replacement for X called Wayland. Now I know very little about Wayland itself, but I’ve been a user of X since about 1999 when I first went to university, so I can’t help it, I feel moved to write about my current and old experiences. X is actually really quite an old protocol and was designed with different goals in mind than those modern desktop environments have today. The history is written all over the internet so I won’t repeat it, but it is evident that X was originally meant for the X-terminal connected to a mainframe case that was so very common at the point of its inception.

One of the questions asked was “what does X do well?”

Lincity via SSH

Lincity via SSH

The core of the X protocol is based around drawing primitives such as lines and circles but also includes pixmaps (bitmaps for those who don’t speak X). Here is an example screen shot of a program, lincity, that was one of the first games I wrote about here on my blog. In this case I’m running it through an SSH tunnel over an ADSL line with a maximum upload rate (to the X server) of about 75Kb/s. Because of the way X works lincity is not only able to draw to my remote display, but is able to animate the play area at a reasonable rate. This situation is something which VNC and RDP just can’t do over my connection. The remote machine running lincity is my old Sparcstation 20 with 2x 50Mhz supersparc processors, running a pkgsrc build at the same time.

Working remotely

Working remotely

Here is another screenshot of me monitoring my old Sparc, again doing a pkgsrc build (they take a long time with only 50Mhz you know). I’m able to get real time performance graphs and interactive terminals, all using about 5-7Kb/s data through a SSH tunnel, and much less when the remote windows are not visible on the screen. This kind of use if very common for me, not just to old machines, but also modern ones that are around my workplace, X and SSH makes it easy to start a program from any machine. This is very handy for testing and I can run software from home or work as I need.

XDMCP Chooser

XDMCP Chooser

My machines at home are running NetBSD, FreeBSD and Gentoo currently and whilst some of them are capable, none currently have a head attached. So I frequently use XDMCP and a X server on my windows machine to access them, and it works basically flawlessly. I realise this is a less common situation now, but with thin clients becoming all the rage in different forms, it seems this feature of X could be exploited more.

FVWM on my Sparc

FVWM on my Sparc

I love that there is so much variety in window managers and that there are light ones that make even my oldest machine quite usable with recent operating systems. Pictured here is my nostalgic favourite FVWM, which incidentally is still being maintained and developed. Windowmaker, openbox, fluxbox, etc, all deserve to exist and have a dedicated user base. They are interesting and useful, but mostly truly light-weight, making using older hardware viable. People like myself who collect and use old hardware find this useful to keep life in their old pride-and-joys.

No matter how it is implemented under the hood, for users the network feature of X is seamless and very easy to use, in no small part due to the hard work of the X11 developers, many of whom are working on Wayland. So what motivated the big change?

One of the major factors is X is becoming too large and difficult a project to develop and manage. A contributing factor to this is the explosion in extensions to it that made it kind of bloated. It seems they were sort of added willy-nilly (mostly during the Xfree86 days) to meet the demands of people developing the more eye-candy based style desktop environments we see now. Fortunately the X developers have been cutting much of the debris out of the extensions and have made the X server modular. Now if only the X server was actually installed/packaged in separate modules for each extension and the core it might make having a slimmer server easier, but as far as I know that’s not possible.

Personally I’ve not had much trouble with X. I mostly had problems with getting proprietary drivers to work for my GPU back in the Xfree86 days, but I’ve not had that problem in ages. I have only really seen the flickering that has been talked about over high latency network connections, never over any LAN I’ve ever used. I understand that it probably does have huge design flaws, and that a newer system and design is needed to meet the needs of new desktop environments. I just feel somehow, that when it’s gone I’ll miss X.

0 Responses to “Some words on X windows”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

