31
Jan
14

Megapede for DOS

Megapede

Megapede

This week my family and I have been sick, so I’ve been fairly busy taking care of little kids and my sick partner. I have however managed to find some time this week to play a small shareware game we had back in the day. The game is called Megapede, it’s a small text based clone of Centipede and was created by Dom. Early back in 1992.

Playing

Playing

The game uses ASCII and text characters for the graphics on screen, which actually looks fine for what they are. Sound comes from the PC speaker, and has some pretty impressive noises for the device, although I have noted it sounds different depending on the CPU you have. I’ve found playing this under Dosbox, a cycle count of 500-3000 plays ok. On actual hardware it would likely work quite well even on the original IBM PC and not be too fast as long as your machine is slower than a 386sx 20Mhz.

Dead

Dead

This is the only Centipede clone I’ve played, and I haven’t played Centipede, so I can’t really compare game play between this and other implementations of the game. I did find this game relatively difficult, partly because it is frequently difficult to hit short centipedes, partly because of the weird controls. The game uses A and Z for vertical movement and O and P for horizontal, with the space bar shooting. This isn’t as intuitive as I’d like, especially when learning to play. Slowing the cycles on Dosbox did help in making it more playable.

All in all, I had a nice bit of fun with this game. It’s a quick distraction, you won’t be playing it for hours, but that’s not the point of a game like this.

0 Responses to “Megapede for DOS”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

