16
Dec
14

Improving Joystick support for Bob’s Fury

Some of the hardware support within Bob’s Fury has been far from ideal, the joystick/game pad being one such device. I had only added support for a simple 2 button joystick, as that’s all I had when I first wrote the code a long time ago. It proved to be inadequate as there just simply wasn’t enough buttons to support all the functions in game, and you couldn’t choose what the buttons do.

Old Joystick Configuration

Old Joystick Configuration

So with the aid of a real machine and a Gravis game pad I worked out how the basic 4 button devices work. It turns out they aren’t much different. I had originally coded my interface to expect two joysticks, each with 2 axis and 2 buttons. It turns out that the buttons on the second joystick correspond to the 3rd and 4th buttons on the Gravis game pad, which means it was fairly simply to allow such a device to support 4 buttons with a minimal effort. I re-wrote the joystick hardware code to be a single joystick with 4 buttons and axis which should support most devices.

New Configuration Screen

New Configuration Screen

Once I got the joystick code re-worked I didn’t want to give fixed functions to the buttons, so I had to recode the configuration interface to allow changing what the buttons do, which funnily enough took longer to get right than the hardware side of things. After some testing in Dosbox I’m pretty happy with the result. I still need to test on some real hardware to make sure everything works, and I need to test a two button joystick to ensure that still works as well. I’ll update the download once I’ve tested it on real hardware.

0 Responses to “Improving Joystick support for Bob’s Fury”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

