26
Feb
12

Thexder like EGA graphics conversion for Bobs Fury.

Recently I had decided to add EGA graphics to my DOS based platform game, Bobs Fury. The difficult part of course is converting the VGA 256 colour graphics to something in EGA that would look something like the original. I did not like the idea of manually converting or recreating the art work so I set upon creating a converter program that would do the work for the 150 different sprites in the game. The first kind of conversion I tried was basically mapping of colours in the sprites to the best match of a single colour in the standard EGA palette. I measured the difference in colour for each channel (red, green and blue) and added them together as a basic measurement of how different they were. This resulted in some odd colour choices by the converter. It picked brown in some cases where a green would have been more appropriate, and some other sprites where just way out of whack! At this point I also discovered that the graphics system would not allow me to use the 320x200x16 ega mode that I had planned on using. For Bobs Fury I’ve been using the Borland Graphics Interface (BGI) for drawing within the game as it allowed me to support a few different graphic modes without writing several low-level libraries for each graphics mode. It was also partly because when I started writing the game I didn’t have the experience necessary to create the low-level graphics libraries required. The best resolution that fit the game screen turned out to be 640x200x16 as the higher modes don’t have enough vertical resolution to deal with the higher resolution mode sprites I had created. It was at this point that I remembered the game Thexder and how it used the same mode to try to accomplish a very similar goal. You can see some details of this as recorded by Gemini (Kris Asick) on his web show Ancient Dos Games, click here for Thexder and here for Thexder the Second Contact. I decided I could probably modify my converter to double the horizontal resolution of the sprites, using two pixels instead of one for each in the low resolution sprites. Using a similar algorithm to before I did get some nice results, but still also some weird ones which didn’t even come close to the original at all. I was starting to think it wasn’t possible and that I’d have to convert the images manually when I was struck by an idea that actually comes from matrix math and 3D graphics. I decided to change how I measured the difference between two colours. What I did was to treat all the colours like vectors, and measure the angle between them and difference in length to decide which ones were closest in colour. Once I had picked the primary EGA colour that was the closest match, I went through a similar process to pick the second one. Adding it to the first and correcting the gamma so I could compare the final vector against the vector of the original. This seems to have given the best results that I could hope for, and has saved me a ton of work recreating the sprites in EGA. See the pictures bellow for a comparison of the VGA to the final EGA result.

0 Responses to “Thexder like EGA graphics conversion for Bobs Fury.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blogs I Follow

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Mister G Kids

A daily comic about real stuff little kids say in school. By Matt Gajdoš

Random Battles: my life long level grind

completing every RPG, ever.

Gough's Tech Zone

Reversing the mindless enslavement of humans by technology.

Retrocosm's Vintage Computing, Tech & Scale RC Blog

Random mutterings on retro computing, old technology, some new, plus radio controlled scale modelling.

ancientelectronics

retro computing and gaming plus a little more

Retrocomputing with 90's SPARC

21st-Century computing, the hard way

lazygamereviews

MS-DOS game reviews, retro ramblings and more...

